Mossberg Duck Commander 930 Series Review

Mossberg 930 Duck Commander
Mossberg 930 Duck Commander

One of the best parts of my job as a contributing writer for Tactical-Life.com is evaluating guns. I love all weapons but my favorite ones are at home in the woods.

My latest project is for Harris Publication’s Gun Buyer’s Guide 2014.

Mossberg allowed me the opportunity to review their newest contribution to the waterfowl hunting world, their Duck Commander series of shotguns. The 930 semi-automatic shotgun is a 12 gauge 3″ weapon designed to help waterfowl hunters bring home much more than just good stories. It comes with a modified choke and a 28″ ventilated ribbed barrel which is ported.

I have taken the 930 to the sporting clays range at Shady Grove Shooting Preserve in Remington, Va., near my house and on several Canadian Goose hunts in Virginia and Maryland. The weapon points very well and is light. Like many semi-autos, it doesn’t care for the lighter loads, but it’s still hell on clays. The porting must work because I have never thought about my shoulder even after a full day of hunting with full 3″ loads. No one in the duck blinds has complained about the porting either.

Here’s the bottom line – clays have been busted and my freezer is full of geese.

Check out video of the Mossberg 930 in action on the clay range here.

Read more about the Mossberg in the Gun Buyer’s Guide for 2014.

Mossberg 930
The Mossberg 930 Duck Commander has claimed more than its fair share of geese in two states.
Happy goose hunters, Virginia Delegate Michael Webert (R-18), myself and Zac Klein from Toxic Calls, who hosted Mike and I on a private farm in Carroll County, Md. show off our harvest.
Happy goose hunters, Virginia Delegate Michael Webert (R-18), myself and Zac Klein from Toxic Calls, who hosted Mike and I on a private farm in Carroll County, Md. show off our harvest.
Zac Klein from Toxic Calls hosted me for the Mossberg test hunt in Carroll County, Md.
Zac Klein from Toxic Calls hosted me for the Mossberg test hunt in Carroll County, Md.
One thought on “Mossberg Duck Commander 930 Series Review

Leave a Reply

